Honorary Graduates

1964 Walter Verran Dyer Doctor of Science

George Conrad Petersen Doctor of Literature

Norman Hargrave Taylor Doctor of Science

1966 Francis William Dry Doctor of Science

Campbell Percy McMeekan Doctor of Science

1968 Roland Alan Candy, OBE Doctor of Science

John Francis Filmer Doctor of Science

1971 William Maxwell Hamilton Doctor of Science

William Blair Tennent, OBE Doctor of Science

1972 Malcolm McGregor Cooper, CBE Doctor of Science

Sir John Davies Ormond, Kt BEM Doctor of Science

1976 Eliza Amy Hodgson Doctor of Science

1977 Alfred Lawrence Friis Doctor of Science

Hon. Leslie Walter Gandar Doctor of Science

Eric Mervyn Ojala Doctor of Science

Sir Geoffrey Sylvester Peren, KBE Doctor of Science

1979 Lewis William Newlands Fitch, CMG Doctor of Science

1981 Rt Hon. Brian Edward Talboys Doctor of Science

1982 Frederick Reed Alan Hellaby Doctor of Science

1984 Sir Alan Stewart, KBE Doctor of Science

1985 Alan Tutton Johns Doctor of Science

1986 Lindsay Russell Wallace Doctor of Science

1988 Lauris Dorothy Edmond Doctor of Literature

William Joseph Pryor Doctor of Science

1989 Clifford Hugh Greenfield Irvine Doctor of Science

1990 Sir James Thompson Graham Doctor of Science

Tukawekai Kereama Doctor of Literature

1991 John Douglas Easton Doctor of Science

Robert Stewart Lockwood Doctor of Science

Roger Essex Burchall Peren Doctor of Literature

Sir Arthur Hugh Ward Doctor of Science

1992 Roy Allan McKenzie, KBE Doctor of Literature

Donald Vincent Merton Doctor of Science

1993 Joy Cowley, OBE Doctor of Literature

Ephra Garret Doctor of Literature

Bok Yong Kim Doctor of Science

Dame Malvina Major, DBE Doctor of Literature

Campbell Reid Doctor of Science

Sir Roderick Weir Doctor of Science

1994 Joan Majorie Dingley Doctor of Science

Brian George Conway Elwood Doctor of Literature

Joan Wiffen Doctor of Science

1995 David Raymond Levene, OBE Doctor of Literature

Philip Seabrook Yates Doctor of Science

1996 Kevin William Low Doctor of Science

Samuel Darragh McGredy Doctor of Science

Sir Thomas Neil Morris Waters Doctor of Science

Cliff Whiting Doctor of Literature

John Rolan Williams Doctor of Commerce

1997 Jane Hunter, CNZM Doctor of Science

1998 Hon Justice Hugh Williams Doctor of Literature

1999 Sir Peter Blake, OBE Doctor of Literature

Hon Justice Eddie Durie Doctor of Literature

Michael Houstoun, CNZM Doctor of Literature

Dick Hubbard Doctor of Science

James Garfield Johnson Doctor of Literature

2000 Sir Patrick Goodman Doctor of Science

Kevin Ireland Doctor of Literature

Air Commodore Stuart McIntyre, CBE, OBE, DFC Doctor of Commerce

William Hosking Oliver, CBE Doctor of Literature

Major General Piers Martin Reid, CBE Doctor of Literature

Sir Dryden Spring Doctor of Science

2001 Geoffrey Page Doctor of Science

Ian Warrington, CNZM Doctor of Literature

2002 His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej, King of Thailand Doctor of Science

Rt Hon. James Brendon Bolger Doctor of Literature

John Drawbridge Doctor of Literature

Emeritus Professor Alan Russell Frampton Doctor of Science

Peter Hubscher Doctor of Science

Tom Scott Doctor of Literature

Don Charles Selwyn Doctor of Literature

Sir Stephen Tindall, KNZM Doctor of Commerce

2003 Kate Coolahan Doctor of Literature

Morva Olwyn Croxson Doctor of Literature

C. Wayne McIlwraith Doctor of Science

Jock Macmillan Doctor of Science

Dr John Reid Doctor of Science

2004 Warren Larsen Doctor of Science

James Alexander McWha Doctor of Science

Ian Douglas Watson Doctor of Science

2005 James Bull Doctor of Science

Susan Joan Baragwanath Doctor of Literature

Rodger Dennis Fox Doctor of Music

Elwyn Stuart Richardson Doctor of Literature

2006 Geoffrey Laurence Baylis Doctor of Literature

John Dunmore Doctor of Literature

2007 Paul Hugh Dibble Doctor of Fine Arts

Peter George Snell, KNZM, OBE Doctor of Science

Sir Tumu Te Heuheu Tukino VIII, Doctor of Literature

2008 Dame Margaret Clara Bazley, ONZ Doctor of Literature

Grant Michael Norman Davidson Doctor of Science

David John Russell, QSO Doctor of Commerce

2009 Alison Mae Paterson, ONZM, CNZM Doctor of Commerce

Turoa Kiniwe Royal, CNZM Doctor of Literature

Donald Harvey Turner Doctor of Science

2010 Donald Robert Bewley Doctor of Literature

Sir Paul Terrance Callaghan, GNZM Doctor of Science

Bronwyn Anne Monopoli, MBE Doctor of Commerce

Nigel James Gould, ONZM Doctor of Commerce

Peter Joseph McLeavey, ONZM Doctor of Fine Arts

2011 Jeremiah (Jerry) Mateparae, GNZM, ONZM Doctor of Literature

Kate Elizabeth Sylvester Doctor of Fine Arts

Richard Leslie Taylor, KNZM, ONZM Doctor of Fine Arts

Ian Campbell Templeton, CNZM, OBE Doctor of Literature

2012 Alan Esmond Bollard, CNZM Doctor of Commerce

Mervyn Wilkinson Hancock Doctor of Literature

Horace Romano (Rom) Harré, Doctor of Literature

Ivan Augustine Snook Doctor of Literature

2013 Donald George McLaren Doctor of Science

2014 Dame Suzanne Elizabeth Ralston Moncrieff, DNZM Doctor of Fine Arts

Geoffrey Peter Murphy, ONZM Doctor of Literature

Madame Peng Liyuan Doctor of Literature

2015 Mr Dhanin Chearavanont Doctor of Science

Gerald Christopher Philip Hensley, CNZM Doctor of Literature

Sir David John Moxon, KNZM Doctor of Literature

Anna (Ans) Jacoba Westra, Doctor of Fine Arts

2016 Russell Ballard, CNZM Doctor of Science

Diana Barbara Goodman Doctor of Literature

Richard (Dick) George Scott ONZM Doctor of Literature

Massey Medal Recipients

1990 Alexander (Al) Rae

1991 Julia Wallace

1992 Ella Orr Campbell

1993 Janet Mary (Molly) Atkinson

Richard Dean Batt

Ian Lorne Campbell

John Dunmore

Janet Frame

Winifred Whiteoak (Win) Rockell

Keith Westhead Thomson

1994 Dorothy McKegg

Harold Jeffrey (Pat) Whitwell

1995 John Alexander Lowbridge Bennett

Mervyn Thomas Dearsly

1996 Ian Alistair Gordon

Joyce Mary Waters

1998 Mina McKenzie

Robert Neale

1999 Mervyn Hancock

John J. Stewart

2000 Devon Sutcliffe

2002 Ian Roderick Matheson, QSM

Nola Mary Simspon

Mary Sinclair Skipworth

2003 Ross Findlayson

2004 Gordon Churchill Davies

Ian Andrew Wilson

2005 Paul Warren Rieger

2008 Noel William Johnson

2011 Eric Desmond (Des) Fielden, ONZM

2012 Martin Verstegen

Mariet Verstegen-Spiertz

2014 Mary Earle

Richard Laurence Earle, ONZM

Roger Stewart Morris, CNZM

75th Anniversary Medals celebrating Massey University's 75th Anniversary

2002 Russell Ballard, CNZM

Robyn Rangihuia Bargh

Paddy Bassett

Robin Michael Hapi

Peggy Gwendoline Koopman-Boyden

Fay Mason

Brian Walter Wickham

Professor Christine Winterbourn

Massey University Veterinary 50-year Anniversary Medal celebrating 50 years of Veterinary Teaching at Massey University

2013 Arthur Neil Bruère

Robert D Jolly

Christopher Kelly

Norman Williamson

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey