Research Centres

Allan Wilson Centre


2012 Hamish Spencer, University of Otago

AL Rae Centre for Genetics and Biology


1988 Dorian J. Garrick, BAgrSc(Hons), PhD C'nell

Centre for Advanced Retail Studies


2014 Jonathan Elms, BSc(Hons) Lanc.,MScLanc.,PhDLanc.

Centre for Animal Welfare Science and Bioethics


2001 Professor Craig Johnson, DipECVA, BVSc Liv., PhD Cant., DVA, MRCA, MRCVS

1990 Kevin J. Stafford, MVB Dub., MSc Edin., PhD NUI, MRCVS, MACVSc

Centre for Energy Research


1971 Ralph E. H. Sims, MSc N'cle (UK), CEng, FIAgrE, FIPENZ

Centre for Ergonomics, Occupational Safety and Health


1995 Stephen J. Legg, BSc(Hons), PhD, FErgS, CNZErg

Centre of Excellence in Farm Business Management


2012 Mark Williamson, MBA Well.,DipWoolTech Lincoln

Centre for Information Technology


Appointment pending

Centre for Language and Speech Processing


2003 Ruili Wang, BE HUST, ME Northeastern, PhD Dublin

Centre for Mathematics in Industry

2003 Winston Sweatman, BA(Hons) Oxf., PGCertTLHE Edin. Napier, PhD Edin.

Centre for Metabolic Health Research

2003 Ajmol Ali, BSc(Hons), MSc, PhD Lough.

Centre for Organisational Excellence Research


1998 Robin S. Mann, MSc Warw., PhD Liv.

Centre for Parallel Computing


2011 Daniel Playne, BSc(Hons), PhD

Centre for Postharvest and Refrigeration Research

2010 Julian Heyes, BSc(Hons) Well., DPhil Oxf.

Centre for Public Health Research


2003 Jeroen Douwes, PhD Wagen.

Centre for Research in Analogue & VLSI Microsystem Design


2004 S. M. Rezaul Hasan, BSEE B'desh., MSEE SUNY, PhD UCLA, SMIEEE

Centre for Research in Mathematics Education (CeRME)


1995 Glenda Anthony, DipTchg, LTCL, BSc(Hons), MPhil, PhD

2001 Margaret Walshaw, DipTchg, BSc Cant., MEdAdmin, PhD

Centre for Structural Biology

1994 Geoffrey B. Jameson, BSc(Hons), PhD Cant., FNZIC, FRSNZ

Centre of Theoretical Chemistry and Physics

2004 Peter A. Schwerdtfeger, MEng Aalen, MSc, PhD Stuttgart, Habil. Marburg, FRSNZ, FNZIC, MAPS, MACS, MIAQMS



Appointment pending

Engaged Social Science Hui Rangahau Tahi (eSocSci)


2005 Robin Peace, DipTchg CCE., BA Cant., MSocSc Waik., PhD Waik.

Equity Through Education


Appointment pending

Fertilizer and Lime Research Centre


1983 Mike J. Hedley, BSc(Hons) Leeds, PhD

Financial Education and Research Centre (Fin-Ed Centre)


2012 Pushpa Wood, DipComnwlthYouthDev, BA(Hons), MA Delhi, PhD Well.

Global Centre for Indigenous Leadership

Establishment Director

2012 Selwyn Katene, BA(Hons), MPM, MA, PhD

Infectious Disease Research Centre

Executive Director

2011 Nigel P. French, BVSc, MSc, PhD Brist., DLSHTM, MRCVS.


2007 Jackie Benschop, BVSc, PhD

2014 David T.S. Hayman, BVSc, MSc, PhD Camb.

Joint Centre for Disaster Research

2006 David Johnston, MSc Cant., PhD, MInstD

National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence - Ako Aotearoa


2016 Stanley Frielick, PhD

New Zealand Biochar Research Centre


2009 Marta Camps, BAgEng(Hons) Politenica de Catalonya, MSc, PhD UC Davis

1998 Jim Jones, BE(Hons) Cant., MSc Idaho, PhD Camb.

New Zealand Institute for Advanced Study


2004 Peter A. Schwerdtfeger, MEng Aalen, MSc, PhD Stuttgart, Habil. Marburg, FRSNZ, FNZIC, MAPS, MACS, MIAQMS

New Zealand Life Cycle Management Centre

2010 Sarah McLaren, BSc(Hons) Leeds, MSc Tor., PhD Sur.

New Zealand Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Research Centre

2010 Anne de Bruin, MEc New Eng., PhD

New Zealand Wildlife Health Centre

2002 Brett Gartrell, BVSc(Hons) Syd., PhD Tas., MACVSc

Pacific Research and Policy Centre


2013 Malakai Koloamatangi, BA, MA, PhD

1995 Regina A. Scheyvens, BA(Hons), PhD

Research Centre for Māori Health and Development


1996 Chris Cunningham, BSc(Hons), PhD Well., MRSNZ

Riddet Institute


1989 Harjinder Singh, MSc Ludhiana, PhD Cork, FRSNZ

1983 Paul J. Moughan, BAgriSc(Hons), PhD, DSc, FRSNZ Riddett Institute (RC1)

Roof Water Harvesting Centre


1985 Stan E. Abbott, DipMedMicro, DipHistopath, MSc

SHORE Social and Health Outcomes Research and Evaluation and Whariki Research Centre


2002 Sally Casswell, PhD

2002 Helen Moewaka Barnes, MPH Auck., PhD

Sleep Wake Research Centre


2003 Philippa Gander, PhD Auck.

Te Au Rangahau: Māori Business Research Centre


2001 Farah Palmer, BPhEd(Hons), PhD, ONZM

Te Mata o te Tau: Academy for Māori Research and Scholarship


1994 Huia Jahnke, DipTchg, BEd, MEd, PhD

Vitamin D Research Centre

2001 Jane Coad, BSc(Hons), PGCEA, PhD Lond., R.Nutr.

2009 Pamela Von Hurst, PhD

W.H. Oliver Humanities Academy


1997 Kerry Taylor, BA(Hons), PhD Well.

Wildbase Research


2002 Brett Gartrell, BVSc(Hons) Syd., PhD Tas., MACVSc

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey