Staff, alumni and partners to be honoured

More than 200 people attended last year's Defining Excellence Awards

Massey University will celebrate its top researchers, teachers, outstanding alumni and the partner organisations it works with at a formal dinner at Parliament next Wednesday.

Hosted this year by Palmerston North MP Iain Lees-Galloway and Rangitikei MP Ian McKelvie, the Defining Excellence Awards brings together the University’s annual research medal winners and Vice-Chancellor’s teaching excellence award winners. It also honours outstanding graduates who have achieved success in their professions and communities as well as the businesses and other organisations that Massey relies on to do its work. The two most recent Distinguished Professors, Marti Anderson and Nigel French will also be ack nowledged.

The University’s most prestigious award for alumni, the Sir Geoffrey Peren Medal, will be presented to 1994 Master of Business Administration graduate and New Zealand on Air chief executive Jane Wrightson, who has been a champion for diversity in local content and public media for New Zealand audiences during her 30-year career. Other alumni recipients are 1991 Bachelor of Business Studies graduate Ivan Pivac, 2005 Diploma of Fashion Design graduate Chloe Julian and 1976 Master of Arts graduate Professor Patrick Hesp.

Partner Excellence Award finalists this year are the Ministry of Health’s Health Workforce NZ, the Palmerston North City Council, Te Rūnanga Nui o Ngā Kura Kaupapa Māori o Aotearoa, Venture Taranaki, Zespri International Ltd, the University of New England (Australia) and Wuhan University (China).

It is the first time since 2010 that the awards have been held in Wellington. The event is at capacity. Funds raised will support the Massey University Foundation’s fundraising campaign for the Refectory restoration.

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey