The Equine Trust Board

The Equine Trust Board consists of 7 trustees. In keeping with the spirit of partnership, half of the trustees are nominated by the principal industry partners (in particular the New Zealand Racing Board) and half by Massey University or the Massey University Foundation Board. Members of the Equine Trust Board are unpaid.



Duties of the Equine Trust Board

  • The trustees are responsible for ensuring the present day value of the $5 million invested by the Tertiary Education Commission and the Equine PfX is protected and that the investment income from the capitol sum (approximately $300,000 per annum) is used to support the research and teaching outcomes of the Partnership for Excellence.
  • The Equine Trust Board will recommend to the Massey University Foundation Board the funding projects that will assist the achievement of the research and teaching outcomes of the Partnership for Excellence.
  • Make policy and decisions as to the investment, distribution and retention of income and, if appropriate, capitol of the Equine Partnership funds.
  • Ensure funded projects are running on time and to schedule.
  • Attend board meetings (2-3 per year).
  • To make recommendations on research projects to be funded by NZRB annual contributions (this has been in effect for 2010-2011).

Members of the New Zealand Equine Trust Board

  • Professor Wayne McIlwraith (representing Massey University)
  • Dr Nicola Schreurs (representing Massey University)
  • Mr. Brian Ward (representing Massey University Foundation)
  • Mr Peter D Benstead (representing New Zealand Racing Board)
  • Dr Tim Pearce (representing New Zealand Racing Codes)
  • Dr. Mark Chitty (representing New Zealand Racing Board)
  • Dr Margaret Evans (representing New Zealand Equine Research Foundation)




Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey