The University Council

The University Council page contains links to archived council papers, minutes and agendas.

About the University Council

Massey University Council Constitution 2015

When does the Council meet?

Council meeting papers

Who is on the University Council?

Academic Board and Committees

About the University Council

Massey University’s governing body is the University Council. Council members include lay, academic and student members and are responsible for overseeing the management and control of the affairs, concerns and property of the University. It's Chair, and ceremonial head of the University, is the Chancellor, elected by Council from within its ranks. Council meets on the first Friday of March, May, August, October and December unless otherwise notified.

Massey University Council Constitution 2015

The new Constitution of Massey University Council Notice 2015 was approved by the Minister of Tertiary Education and gazetted on 6 August 2015.

When does the Council meet?

The next Council meeting is to be held on Friday 4 December 2015 on the Manawatu Campus.  The 2015 and 2016 Meeting Schedule for Council, Council Committees and graduations is provided below.

Notice for Council meeting - 4 December 2015.pdf (148 KB)

Council & Committee meeting and graduation dates 2016.pdf (42 KB)

Massey University Council and Council Committee meetings 2015.pdf (40 KB)

Arrow Back to top

Council meeting papers

Part I Council papers are public documents and are available in PDF format.

Download the meeting papers for the Council meetings.

Parties may request copies of documents as per the Official Information Act 1982 and Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 by contacting the Executive Secretary, Office of University Registrar. A small charge for photocopying may apply.

 Arrow Back to top

Massey University Council members

Chancellor: Mr Chris Kelly MVSc (Massey) MACVSc

Pro Chancellor: Mr Michael Ahie BBS (Hons)

Vice-Chancellor: Hon Steve Maharey CNZM BA MA (Hons)

Members Appointed by the Minister of Education
Mr Michael Ahie BBS (Hons)
Mr Colin Harvey ONZM BAgSc, BCC Auck 
Mr Ben Vanderkolk LLB Cant
Dr Helen Anderson QSO PhD Cantab CRSNZ FInstD

Elected Permanent Member of Academic Staff 
Associate Professor Grant Duncan MA(Hons) PhD Auck 

Elected Academic Staff of the Academic Board
Professor Cynthia White BA(Hons) PhD DipTESL Well. 

Permanent Member of General Staff
Ms Fiona Coote GradDipBusStuds(BusLaw) DipArts 

Massey University Maori Student member

Massey University Internal Student member
Mr Liam Tait BSc

Massey University Distance Student member

Elected members from the Court of Convocation 
Ms Lesley Whyte JP MBA
Mr Bruce Ullrich OBE MBA BCom (Cant) ACA FInstD

Council appointees on the nomination of the Vice-Chancellor

Ms Kura Denness MBA CA

Mr Chris Kelly MVSc (Massey) MACVSc

Dr Russell Ballard CNZM BAgrSc MAgrSc PhD Florida USA FNZIM

Mr Ian Marshall BCom (Natal) CANZ CASA

Arrow Back to top

Council News

Memorial for Ted Delahunty
Thursday 3 September 2015
A memorial service will be held for the late Ted Delahunty (seated, third from left) at the Manawatū campus on September 19.
Beehive book launch for Māori scholars
Friday 14 August 2015
One of the legacy projects completed by an inter-university Māori academy, and edited by a senior Massey university Maori academic, has been...
Massey Council consulting on size and makeup
Monday 13 April 2015
The Massey University Council is consulting the University's stakeholders on the future composition of the Council following the passing of the...
First woman on Massey University Council dies
Friday 20 March 2015
Margaret Keeling, the first woman to sit on the Massey University Council, died in Levin last Friday, aged 80.

Massey Contact CentreMon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701)TXT chatMyMasseyStaffAlumniNewsMāori @ Massey