Colin Holmes Dairy Scholarship

Add to My shortlist

New Search    

Closing date: 10/03/2019   

research on farm production

Level of study

The Colin Holmes Dairy Scholarships encourage postgraduate research that will benefit the dairy industry.

The scholarships are named after Professor Colin Holmes in recognition of his outstanding service to the dairy industry during his 40-year research and lecturing career at Massey University prior to his retirement in 2007.

The scholarships were developed in 2009 by the Board of Trustees for the Westpac Taranaki Agricultural Research Station (now the Dairy Trust Taranaki, DTT), with DairyNZ co-funding these scholarships from 2017.

Value and tenure
Two scholarships of $20,000 each are normally awarded annually as funds permit.

The scholarships normally take the form of both a stipend and a contribution towards research costs, with the proportion used for stipend and research costs determined depending on the circumstances of the project involved. Applicants should discuss what proportion they consider appropriate, relating this to other scholarships and research funding they have already received.

The scholarships are awarded for one year, and recipients are encouraged to reapply again in subsequent years. Scholarships are not awarded in those years where there are no suitable applicants.

The first payment of the stipend is made in May, followed by equal-sized instalments every two months for a year. The component of the award to be used for research costs is paid in two equal instalments to the chief supervisor of the applicant, one in May and the other six months later following satisfactory progress reporting to DTT and DairyNZ, via the DairyNZ Academic Committee.

Typical number on offer
Two scholarships are usually offered each year.

Applicants must be enrolled at postgraduate level in studies on farm production topics beneficial to the dairy industry, and where the research component of the course will occupy the full year (master’s and PhD programmes).

Preference may be given to applicants who undertake at least part of their studies in conjunction with existing research being undertaken at the Dairy Trust Taranaki Gibson Farm at Whareroa, Hawera.

Selection criteria
In recommending applicants, the Applied Academic Programmes Scholarships Committee will take into account academic merit and other scholarships and bursaries held by the applicants.

Selection panel
Applications are initially considered by the Applied Academic Programmes Scholarships Committee, which recommends a shortlist of applicants to members of the DTT and DairyNZ.

Closing date
Applications close on the 10 March in the year in which the award is to be made. Application forms (ASSC.3) can be downloaded here. Completed applications are to be sent to Dr Kerry Harrington, Alternatively, hard copy applications can be delivered to Dr Kerry Harrington’s office AH 302.

Application cannot be accepted before 10/12/2018.

New Search    

My Shortlist

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey