• BA Creative Writing major

    Pursue your creative vision

    Learn more

  • BA Public and Professional Writing minor

    Develop writing skills for the real world

    Learn more

  • BA Theatre Studies minor

    Follow your passion and get innovative skills

    Learn more

  • School of English and Media Studies

    Compose your future

School of English and Media Studies

Dr Matthew Harris staff profile picture

Contact details +64 (09) 414 0800

Dr Matthew Harris PhD, MA, BA

Senior Tutor

School of English and Media Studies

Professional

Contact details

  • Ph: (09) 414 0800 ext.41663
    Location: AT 2.63, Atrium
    Campus: Albany

Qualifications

  • Doctor of Philosophy - Massey University (2012)
  • Master of Arts - The University of Auckland (2005)
  • Bachelor of Arts - The University of Auckland (2003)

Research Expertise

Research Interests

20th Century New Zealand Fiction 

Metafiction

Narratology

Thematics

21st Century Citizenship

Area of Expertise

Field of research codes
Communication and Media Studies (200100): Communication and Media Studies not elsewhere classified (200199): Cultural Studies (200200):
Curriculum and Pedagogy (130200): Education (130000): English and Literacy Curriculum and Pedagogy (excl. LOTE, ESL and TESOL) (130204):
Film, Television and Digital Media (190200):
Languages, Communication And Culture (200000): Literary Studies (200500): New Zealand Literature (excl. Maori Literature) (200505):
Specialist Studies in Education (130300):
Studies In Creative Arts And Writing (190000)

Supervision and Teaching

Teaching

230.100 Introduction to Academic Writing

139.123 Creative Writing

119.155 Communication for Sciences

Media and Links

Head of School

Associate Professor Jenny Lawn

Email: J.M.Lawn@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 09 213 6337

Administration staff

Joanne Ervine
Academic Services Administrator - Auckland
Email: J.Ervine@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 09 213 6909

Janet Lowe
Academic Services Administrator - Manawatu
Email: J.M.Lowe@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 06 951 7752

Julie McKenzie
Academic Programme Administrator
Email: J.A.McKenzie@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 06 951 7421

Anne Meredith
Academic Programme Administrator - "Writing Papers"
Email: A.M.Meredith@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 06 951 7548

College of Humanities and Social Sciences support staff

Claire Grant
Shared Campus Secretary
Email: C.Grant@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 04 979 3597

Marissa Penfold
Shared Campus Secretary
Email: M.Penfold@massey.ac.nz
Tel: 09 213 6086

Honorary research fellows

These academics are honorary research fellows of our school:

Dr Doreen D'Cruz
Dr Judith Dell Panny
Professor Russell Poole
Dr John Ross

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey