Inaugural Dame Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

Ngaputiputi Akapita 2016
Ngaputiputi Akapita, winner of the inaugural Dame Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

Ngaputiputi Akapita was the recipient of the inaugural Dame Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award, graduating as the top student in Massey University’s kaupapa Māori immersion initial teacher education programme, Te Aho Tātairangi. She is among the first 11 students to complete the Bachelor of Teaching Māori Medium, Diploma Māori Education, a four‐year double degree designed to prepare teachers for careers in Kura Kaupapa Māori. The renewed course is the only tertiary teacher education programme in the country to be modelled on Te Aho Matua, the founding document and driving force for kura kaupapa Māori. The late Dame Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira was a founding member of the Te Aho Matua movement. Ms Akapita received her award from Dame Kātirina’s daughters to thunderous applause, haka and waiata. She says the Te Aho Tātairangi programme is nourished by some of the best Māori teachers and gives recognition to quality Māori teaching.


Opening of the Sir Geoffrey Peren Building

The official opening ceremony on 7 March which highlighted the heritage of the University and the vital role of the humanities in society. During the ceremony five notable Emeritus Professors of Massey University were honoured: Sir Mason Durie, W.H (Bill) Oliver, Glynnis Cropp, John Dunmore and Barrie Macdonald.

Sir Geoffrey Peren bldg 2016

Mr Hone Morris welcomes the audience at the Sir Geoffrey Peren building official opening event

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey