What should I do if I’m experiencing a research conduct issue?

If you are able to discuss the difficulty directly with those concerned, seek to resolve the difficulty with them.

If discussing the problem with those involved seems too difficult or has not resolved the matter, make contact with a Research Practice Advisor (RPA). The role of Research Practice Advisors is to help informally with situations involving Questionable Research Practice (see Terms and Definitions) or minor Breaches of Research Conduct (see Terms and Definitions).  Contact details are below. You are free to contact any RPA.

See the Research Practice Advisors page for more detail.

Informal advice - who to ask

Research Practice Advisors

College

Name

E-mail

Phone

Business School

Albany

Prof Kambiz Maani

k.maani@massey.ac.nz 

43091

Manawatu

Wellington

Creative Arts

Wellington

Prof Tony Parker

a.i.parker@massey.ac.nz

63472

Health

Albany

Manawatu

Assoc. Prof Ian Laird

i.s.laird@massey.ac.nz

84914

Wellington

Humanities & Social Sciences

Albany

Manawatu 

Prof Cynthia White

c.j.white@massey.ac.nz

83565

Wellington

 

Science

Albany

Distinguished Prof Gaven Martin

g.j.martin@massey.ac.nz

43148

Manawatu

Wellington

 

Staff to contact about formal allegations of research misconduct

Assistant Vice Chancellor RAE

Prof Giselle Byrnes

Director Research Ethics

Prof Craig Johnson

Dean Research

Assoc. Prof Tracy Riley

Director Research Operations

Dr Viv Smith

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey