Skip to Content
Files may be saved to your Home drive (which is backed up each night) or to your own portable storage device (e.g. USB drive)
We recommend that you back up your files to a safe location, such as your Home drive — USB drives are frequently lost. You should also save work regularly during each session, since at times there may be unexpected network disruption.
All unsaved files will be deleted when you log off (this includes any files saved to the desktop).
If you wish to save documents received by email, click on "Save" rather than "Open" when you are prompted to download the attached file, otherwise you may lose your document.
Each student is allocated 50MB of disk space on one of the ITS servers to save work to. This space is available to you whenever you login to a lab.
Double-click the Computer or network drive icon on the desktop. Your home drive is listed as your Student ID.
When saving work to your home drive, select the ‘Save As’ option and save to your Student ID.
Do not select the ‘save’ option as your work will be saved to the local drive of the computer. Each time you log out, the computer will reboot and any work you have saved to the local drive will be lost.
If you have trouble finding your home drive — please Contact ITS for assistance.
When using PCs and Macs, you should be cautious when naming files:
Page authorised by CIO
Last updated on Thursday 08 February 2018
Phone 06-356-9099 ext. 82111 (preferred method)
7:45am - 5pm, Monday to Friday
(excluding Public and University holidays)
AskUsSelf-Service to log a request online (staff)
IT Services Dashboard (staff)