Manawatū campus event application process

Stage 1

If you would like to run an event on Massey University's Manawatū Campus please complete the following Stage 1 Event Application Form for approval in principle.

  • Ideally this should be submitted eight weeks prior to the proposed event date.
  • Depending on the nature of your proposed event, you may be required to also complete a Massey University Venue Hire Contract and charges may apply.
Name of Event:

Event Description:

Provide a complete description of the event & the purpose for holding it (eg symposium, awards, dinner, conference)

Name of the event organiser:

Contact phone number of event organiser:

Email of event organiser:

Event Date(s):

Event Start Time:

Event Finish Time:

Approximate no. of Attendees:

Event Venue / Location:

Is the event...

(more than one option can be selected)




if other please specify: 

Indicate below any services & resources you will require from Massey University

(Please note these are not bookable through this form)







Does the event involve the sale or distribution of tickets on campus?

If yes please advise details.

Will alcohol be available, served/sold at the event?

If yes a liquor permit is required from the Campus Registrar. Please email completed form to Becky Wilson r.a.wilson@massey.ac.nz (If Wharerata is to supply/sell the alcohol a liquor permit is not required)

Email Address

Stage 2

Complete and send the following documents supporting your application, to EventsManawatu@massey.ac.nz
Final approval will not be given until these have been sighted

Event Health & Safety Plan (133 KB)

Liquor Permit.pdf (33 KB)  (if required)

Useful Contacts

Sarah Golding Event Management 06 350 5879 or ext 83621 s.l.golding@massey.ac.nz
Rhea Hazners Health & Safety Advisor 06 350 9099 or ext 84224 r.hazners@massey.ac.nz
David Thompson Traffic & Security 06 350 9099 or ext 84236 d.p.thompson@massey.ac.nz
Room Bookings Facilities Management 06 356 9099 or ext 82288 pnroombookings@massey.ac.nz
Ron Werner Sport & Recreation Services 06 350 9099 or ext 83874 r.p.werner@massey.ac.nz
Orla Pettman Clubs & Activities Co-ordinator 06 350 9099 or ext 83875 o.pettman1@massey.ac.nz
Claire Lawless Wharerata Function Centre 06 350 9099 or ext 85384 c.e.lawless@massey.ac.nz
Richard Lloyd Campus Living 06 350 9099 or ext 83920 r.lloyd@massey.ac.nz
Andrew Berry Sport & Rugby Institute 06 350 9099 or ext 85445 a.k.berry@massey.ac.nz
James Gardiner Communications Director 06 350 9099 or ext 83255 j.c.gardiner@massey.ac.nz

Emergency Contacts

Massey Security 0800 627 750 or ext 85030 (24/7 service)
Campus Constable 06 356 9099 ext 85042 (24/7 service)
Massey Medical Centre 06 350 5090 ext 81628 (Mon-Fri, 8.30am - 5.45pm)
After Hours City Doctors 06 355 3300
Police/Fire/Ambulance 111 (includes cell phone calls)*

*If you make a 111 call, please advise you are calling from the Turitea Campus of Massey University, Palmerston North as Massey University also has campuses in Auckland and Wellington. In the case of emergency services (police,fire,ambulance) being called to attend the event for any reason then Massey Security will need to be immediately advised on 0800 627 750.

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey