Use COVID-19 Alert Level 2 contact tracing form when on campus.

Media resources – COVID-19

Media contacts

Contact the communications team on 021 647 878 or communications@massey.ac.nz.


COVID-19 ACADEMIC EXPERTS

Massey University has many academics with research interests and expertise relevant to the COVID-19 pandemic.

SCIENCES EXPERTISE

Prof David Hayman

Professor of Veterinary Science, School of Veterinary Science

Expertise: Zoonotic diseases (infectious diseases caused by bacteria, viruses and parasites that spread between animals – usually vertebrates – and humans).

Contact: 027 909 8802 D.T.S.Hayman@massey.ac.nz

Dr Joanna McKenzie

One Health epidemiologist,
School of Veterinary Science

Expertise: Epidemiology, managing zoonotic diseases, national wildlife disease and vector-borne disease surveillance strategies.

Contact: +64 27 381 2268 j.s.mckenzie@massey.ac.nz

Prof Nigel French

Research director,
School of Veterinary Science

Expertise: Testing, food supply, rural health, veterinary, animals, implications for the food industry, epidemiology and modelling.

Contact: +64 21 245 5305 N.P.French@massey.ac.nz

Prof Mick Roberts

Professor in Mathematical Biology, School of Natural and Computational Sciences

Expertise: Modelling the epidemiology of infectious diseases. Uses innovative mathematics to work out how they might spread and to develop strategies for control. His work has included research on the spread of swine flu (Influenza A (H1N1) virus) in 2009, and on SARS in 2003.

Contact: 021 623366 M.G.Roberts@massey.ac.nz

Prof Murray Cox

School of Fundamental Sciences

Expertise: Infectious disease modelling, health data, statistics.

Contact: +64 21 770 470 m.p.cox@massey.ac.nz


ECONOMIC IMPACT, BUSINESS, WORK EXPERTISE

Prof Martin Berka

Head of School of Economics and Finance

Expertise: Macroeconomics, economic policy, regional development, international trade. Impact of COVID-19 on New Zealand and the global economy.

Contact: +64 (06) 356 9099 ext. 84022 M.Berka@massey.ac.nz

Dr Henry Chung

Associate Professor of Marketing, School of Communication, Journalism and Marketing

- In Taiwan on a research trip until late June

Expertise: Marketing, international marketing, immigrant enterprises, Asian cultures and the business community and perceptions of New Zealand among Asian consumers. Can discuss the impact of COVID-19 on business with China and its trading partners.

Contact: 00 886 0917350616 (Taiwan); or skype: henrychung00; h.chung@massey.ac.nz

Prof Dirk Boehe

Professor of International Business, School of Management

Expertise: International business, international trade, how multinational corporations and exporters/importers can manage such risks such as COVID-19.

Contact: 027 591 3309 d.boehe@massey.ac.nz

Associate Prof David Tappin

Director, Healthy Work Group

Expertise: Director of a research group that studies workplace wellbeing, workplace bullying, including cyberbullying, changing work practices, including remote working.

Contact: 021 107 0585 d.c.tappin@massey.ac.nz

Prof Jane Parker

Professor of Human Resources  Management

Expertise: Employee relations and human resources.

Contact: 022 456 9009 J.Parker@massey.ac.nz


SOCIAL, CULTURAL, POLITICAL EXPERTISE

Distinguished Prof Paul Spoonley

Professor in Sociology, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Expertise: Immigration, racism, population, and New Zealand’s changing demography. Able to comment on racism and xenophobia in relation to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact: 021 422 881 p.spoonley@massey.ac.nz

Prof David Johnston

Professor of Disaster Management, Joint Centre for Disaster Research

Expertise: Disaster management, human responses to warnings, crisis decision-making and the role of public education and participation in building community resilience and recovery. His work has included research on risk communication around the swine flu (Influenza A (H1N1) virus) in 2009.

Contact: 027 452 4000 D.M.Johnston@massey.ac.nz

Dr Julia Becker

Joint Centre for Disaster Research

Expertise: Natural hazard preparation, disaster prep, perceptions, preparedness, community resilience, emergency management and warnings, earthquakes, psychology.

Contact: 027 284 9478 j.becker@massey.ac.nz

Dr Maureen Mooney

Research Associate, Joint Centre for Disaster Research

Expertise: Psychologist with a specific focus on how populations cope with the challenges of disasters.

Contact: 027 678 37 30; m.f.mooney@massey.ac.nz

Prof Christine Stephens

School of Psychology

Expertise: Health psychology, elderly, aging population, social isolation of older people.

Contact: +64 21 242 3904 C.V.Stephens@massey.ac.nz

Dr Suze Wilson

Massey Business School

Expertise: Leadership, crisis communication, leading through a crisis, workplace equity.

Contact: +64 21 439 445 S.E.Wilson@massey.ac.nz

Associate Prof Grant Duncan

Associate Professor of Politics, School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Expertise: Political analysis, including the handling of COVID-19 by Government and the impact the pandemic may have on the upcoming General Election.

Contact: 021 113 8720; L.G.Duncan@massey.ac.nz


HEALTH AND PSYCHOLOGY EXPERTISE

Dr Rosie Gibson

Research Officer at the Sleep/Wake Research Centre

Expertise: Immune system, sleep patterns and difficulty in isolation.

Contact: +64 22 407 9020 R.Gibson@massey.ac.nz

Dr Ian de Terte

Clinical Psychologist, School of Psychology

Expertise: Psychological consequences of occupational trauma for workers in high-risk occupations including first responders. Psychological resilience/coping strategies, psychological consequences of trauma/stress.

Contact: +64 21 779 241 I.deTerte@massey.ac.nz

Associate Prof Andy Towers

School of Health Sciences

Expertise: Elderly, older adults’ healthy ageing and alcohol consumption.

Contact: +64 21 105 0798  A.J.Towers@massey.ac.nz

Dr Kirsty Ross

Senior Clinical Psychologist, School of Psychology

Expertise: Clinical Psychology, child behaviour in lockdown, parenting.

Contact: +64 21 572 967 k.j.ross@massey.ac.nz

Latest Massey COVID-19 related news

Celebrity bodies, post-feminism and ageing – health psychologist explores
From the impact of pop culture on body image to why men dance the way they do, how people manage ageing and illness, and whether self-help books...
Massey’s food innovation legacy celebrated in ‘NZ Food Heroes’
Massey's commitment to the food sector as a longstanding leader in research and education excellence in food science, product development, and food...
Opinion: Will $50b budget boost Ardern’s chances of re-election?
New Zealand's Budget 2020 is about "the next steps to recover and rebuild" from COVID-19. But political analyst Grant Duncan asks: will it help...
Researcher asks ‘how was lockdown for parents?
Psychology researcher Rosanna Stoop-Maigret started the year with plans to study a phenomenon of memory for her master's degree. Then COVID-19...
Massey Scientist leads capacity building project for COVID-19 testing
In the early days of the national Level 4 lockdown, work was ramping up for one Massey staff member as she helped turn a veterinary laboratory into a...
Māori student support services making an impact in the COVID-19 Crisis
Māori student support networks at Massey University have risen to the challenges thrown up by the COVID-19 crisis to forge stronger support for...
Online learning brings students closer together
Executive MBA students say online learning has brought the class closer together.
Opinion: Lockdown lament for social and cultural life
Restaurants and cafes, sporting and cultural events, magazines and books, parties and festivals are more than just economic stimulants or disease...
The ‘Rosie the Riveter’ effect and higher education in New Zealand
The current crisis has unsettled us all and we know that life, 'post COVID-19' will never be the same again. For those under extreme personal and...

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey