teaching-awards.jpg research-awards.jpg

LEFT - Excellent teachers: Back (left to right): Richard Buchanan, Richard Shaw, Bill Anderson. Front: Vice-Chancellor Judith Kinnear, Marion Orme and Mary Simpson. RIGHT - Research medallists: Back (left to right): Mike Hendy, Jeroen Douwes, David Parry, David Penny. Front: Ulrich Zuelicke, David Lambert, Kerry Chamberlain and Peter Lockhart.

Gala dinner celebrates research and teaching excellence

About 160 people gathered at the Palmerston North Convention Centre last week to celebrate excellence in teaching and research at the University.

Many of Massey's top research staff and academics attended the inaugural event at which the Vice-Chancellor's Excellence in Teaching Awards and the Massey University Research Medals were presented.

The audience was welcomed by Professor Nigel Long, Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Research), who was instrumental in the introduction of the Massey University Research Medals earlier this year. The medals are awarded to the University's top researchers who have made outstanding contributions in their disciplines and are the highest award the University can bestow on researchers. Professor Long says it is anticipated that the gala dinner will become an annual event much looked forward to by staff as an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the achievement of colleagues.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Judith Kinnear was the guest speaker. She spoke of the breadth and wide interests of researchers at Massey along with the achievements of researchers the world over who have toiled through the years with often outstanding results. A transcript of her speech is included as an insert in this issue of Massey News.

Chancellor Nigel Gould closed the evening by commenting on how it is not often he attends a function at which so many internationally and nationally recognised researchers and leaders in their fields are present.

The winners of the 2004 Vice-Chancellor's Excellence in Teaching Awards are Dr Richard Shaw, School of Sociology, Social Policy and Social Work, Dr Doug Stirling, Institute of Information Sciences and Technology, Dr Richard Buchanan, Department of Marketing, and a group award went to Dr Bill Anderson, Dr Mary Simpson and Marion Orme from the College of Education.

The Massey University Research Medal for an Outstanding Individual Researcher was awarded to Professor David Parry, Head of the Institute of Fundamental Sciences. The Research Medal for a Supervisor went to Associate Professor Kerry Chamberlain from the School of Psychology at Albany. Dr Jeroen Douwes, Centre for Public Health Research and Dr Ulrich Zuelicke, Institute of Fundamental Sciences, were awarded Research Medals for Early Career researchers, while the Allan Wilson Centre for Molecular Ecology and Evolution won the Team Research Medal.

Created: 8 October, 2004

Related articles

Awards recognise outstanding research - Research Medal Awards 2008
2007 Outstanding Research Team
2006 Research Medal winners announced
Celebrating a bright future for Massey research

More related articles