Massey Blues awards finalists announced

The group of 2018 Blues winners from the Manawatū and Wellington campuses.

Finalists for the Massey University Blues Sports Awards have been announced, with athletes qualifying in a range of sporting codes, from para-swimming to aerobic gymnastics.

The University is presenting 170 Blues to students, with eight receiving awards for competing in two sports. Blues are awarded to high-achieving students who have also excelled in their sporting codes.

The awards recognise students from all campuses, as well as those studying via distance. There will also be acknowledgement of team achievement and service to sport.
Additionally one student will receive the Sport Achievement Award, which recognises high achievers in sport who are not athletes, such as managers, coaches or referees. They must have achieved at the same level as an individual athlete would to receive a Blues Award.

The combined Manawatū and Wellington ceremony will be hosted at the Sport and Rugby Institute at the Manawatū campus on October 15. The Auckland campus ceremony will be held on October 10.

The guest speaker for both ceremonies will be Bachelor of Communication graduate Hannah Rowe, who recently completed her studies while balancing an international cricket career with the White Ferns. She has impressed the cricketing world since her debut as a teenager against England in February 2015.


Auckland Campus Sportswoman of the Year

Zoe Hobbs – Athletics         

Hannah Wilton – Aerobic Gymnastics        

Pia Tapsell – Rugby

Vanessa Ouwehand – Swimming
Auckland Campus Sportsman of the Year

Edward Lau – Badminton

Chris Arbuthnott – Para-Swimming

Timothy Waller – Canoe Sprint       

Brad  McNaughten – Rugby

Manawatū and Wellington Campus Sportswoman of the Year

Georgia Atkinson – Cricket 

Tiana Davison – Rugby Sevens and Rugby          

Georgia Wheeler – Canoe Polo      

Casey Hales – Canoe Polo and Canoe Slalom     

Manawatū and Wellington Campus Sportsman of the Year

Felix  Murray – Cricket         

Finn Brown – Judo  

Tom  Biggs – Taekwon-Do 

Matthew O'Connell – Basketball     

Distance Sportswoman of the Year

Luuka Jones – Canoe Slalom         

Lisa Carrington – Canoe Sprint      

Brooke Donoghue – Rowing           

Tyla Nathan­­ Wong – Rugby Sevens

Distance Sportsman of the Year

Finn Butcher – Canoe Slalom         

Regan Gough – Cycling      

Nicholas Kergozou De La Boessiere – Cycling

Cory  Taylor – Surf Life Saving       

Zac Reid – Swimming and Surf Lifesaving

Marcus Daniell – Tennis

The 2018 Auckland Blues recipients. Photo credit: Kendra Eden Photography.

Event details

Auckland event details

Date: Thursday, October 10

Time: 6pm drinks and canapes followed by award presentations at 7pm.

Location: Atrium Round Room, Gate One, Massey University Auckland campus in Albany

Host: Hamish McKay

Manawatū event details

Date: Tuesday, October 15

Time: 5.30pm pre-award drinks and canapes followed by award presentations at 6pm.

Location: Sport and Rugby Institute, Massey University, 56 Albany Drive, Palmerston North

Host: Head of the School of Sport, Exercise and Nutrition, Associate Professor Andrew Foskett