Our Wellington and Manawatū campuses are open, Auckland remains closed at AL3. More information.

Rugby related Massey University experts

Massey University’s people have expertise and knowledge across a broad range of areas with relevance to RWC2011.

The following people are available to media to talk about their specialist subjects before, during and after the event.

Dispute Resolution
Virginia Goldblatt
Email: V.Goldblatt@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x81072 or 0274 794 369

Sport science, game measurements (tackles, metres run)
Matthew Barnes

Email: M.Barnes@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x7637

Sport science, training techniques
Jon Hughes
Email: J.D.Hughes@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x5264

Sport management
Associate Professor Andy Martin
Email: A.J.Martin@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x2788

Sport sociology, sports media
Dr Sarah Gee
Email: S.Gee@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x81568

Sport management, business

Ian O'Boyle
Email: i.oboyle@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x7906

Rugby as a vehicle for international development (Utilisation of sport for social and economic gains addressing poverty – policy and practice)
Dr Rochelle Stewart-Withers
Email: R.R.Stewart-Withers@massey.ac.nz 06 356 9099 extn 2464 or 0275594662

Nutrition
Associate Professor Steve Stannard
Email: S.Stannard@massey.ac.nz, ph: 06 356 9099 x81584

Coaching
Jeremy Hapeta
Email: J.W.Hapeta@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x81567

Coaching and Exercise Science (strength and conditioning)
Trevor Clark
Email:  t.clark1@massey.ac.nz Ph: 04 801 5799 Ext 6144

Game measurements, sports betting
Associate Professor Hugh Morton
Email: H.Morton@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x4265

Economic value of sporting events
Dr Sam Richardson
Email: S.A.Richardson@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x4583

Sports betting/Statistics of winning
Associate Professor Christoph Schumacher
Email: C.Schumacher@massey.ac.nz Ph: 09 414 0800 x9274 or 027 206 8079. 

Sport and ethnicity, general history of sport in New Zealand
Dr Geoff Watson
Email: G.Watson@massey.ac.nz, Ph: 06 356 9099 x7820