New information following the change in COVID-19 alert levels.

Staff - School of Fundamental Sciences

Head of School

  • Prof Paul Plieger

    Prof Paul Plieger

    Head of School of Fundamental Sciences - School of Fundamental Sciences


    Dr Plieger is currently the acting Head of the School for the School of Fundamental Sciences

    Dr Plieger is a trained inorganic synthetic chemist specialising in ligand design, synthesis and functionality. He has strong research interests in anion encapsulation, supramolecular cages, nanomagnets and beryllium coordination chemistry. 

Director of postgraduate studies

  • Dr Catherine Whitby

    Dr Catherine Whitby

    Senior Lecturer in Chemistry - School of Fundamental Sciences


    Catherine is a Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, appointed in late October 2014. Prior to this she was an ARC Future Fellow and Senior Research Fellow at the Ian Wark Research Institute at the University of South Australia. She is a physical chemist with expertise in colloid and surface chemistry. She uses nanomaterials to modify the chemistry of drop and bubble surfaces. This strategy enables her to control the structure, stability and flow of soft materials. Her findings have been applied in food and pharmaceutical products and in drilling fluids.


Contact us Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey