FAQs – Frequently asked questions

What are the Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards?

The Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori book Awards were inaugurated in 2009 as part of the University’s Māori Language Week celebrations and have been held annually since then. The purpose of the awards and event is to inspire excellence in Māori writing and publishing.

Are there other Māori Book Awards?

There are Māori categories in other book awards. Ngā Kupu Ora is the only annual book awards, which has a single focus on Māori literary excellence.

Who runs the Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards?

The Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards are organised by Massey University. It was first initiated by Te Pūtahi-a-Toi the School of Māori Art, Knowledge and Education Senior Lecturer Dr Spencer Lilley, and Kaihautū Māori (Māori Library Services Manager) Sheeanda Field. Te Puni Kōkiri is supporting the Ngā Kupu Ora awards event this year. Other sponsors are also being approached.

Why is an awards event being held?

The event is an opportunity to recognise authors and writers and acknowledge their contribution to excellence in Māori literature.

How were the finalists selected?

Books on Māori topics were selected from those published between March and December 2014.

When is the awards event?

The awards event will be held at Te Papa Tongarewa in Wellington on September 10th 2015.

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey