2017 Ngā Kupu Ora Awards: Journalism Award Finalists and Winners

The finalists and winners in the Ngā Kupu Ora Māori Journalist of the Year Award are:

Māori Journalist of the Year and winner of the English category

Renee Kahukura Iosefa 

For a story on Māori Television’s Native Affairs that saw the then-New Plymouth Mayor Andrew Judd out himself as a recovering racist, sparking a national debate on racism.

Renee Kahukura Iosefa

Interview with Renee Kahukura-Isoefa

Winner of the Te Reo category

Maiki Sherman

Ms Sherman won the inaugural Māori Journalist of Year award last year and is a finalist in both categories for stories she did for Newshub. Her political analysis of King Tuheitia’s backing of the Māori party is recognised in the English category, while a story that ran as part of a Māori Language Week series on the 6pm news is a finalist in the Te Reo Māori category.

Maiki Sherman

Interview with Maiki Sherman

Te Tohu a Tanara Whairiri Kitawhiti Ngata - Lifetime Achievement Award

Wena Harawira

For 37 years Wena Harawira has led the way for Māori journalists. She’s worked in all aspects of the industry inspiring and encouraging others.

Wena Harawira

Interview with Wena Harawira


Heeni Brown Heeni Brown – Te Reo Māori

For coverage of the death of Dr Ranganui Walker and its impact for iwi Te Whakatōhea, aired on Te Kāea, Māori Television.


Ripeka Timutimu Ripeka Timutimu – Te Reo Māori

For a story uncovering the NZ Herald’s refusal to publish a memorial notice in Te Reo Māori. The story was aired on Te Kāea, Māori Television.


Oriini Kaipara Oriini Kaipara - English

For a story on Māori Television’s Native Affairs programme on the gender debate around a man’s decision to have a normally female-only moko kauae against the wishes of the artist and his iwi.

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey