FAQs – Frequently asked questions

What are the 2017 Ngā Kupu Ora Awards: Celebrating Māori Books and Journalism?

The Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori book Awards were inaugurated in 2009 as part of the University’s Māori Language Week celebrations and have been held annually since then. In 2016 the awards were extended to cover Māori journalism with the inclusion of a Māori Journalist of the Year category and the lifetime achievement award, Te Tohu a Tanara Whairiri Kitawhiti Ngata. The purpose of the awards and event is to inspire excellence in Māori books and journalism. 

Are there other Māori Book Awards?

There are Māori categories in other book awards. Ngā Kupu Ora is the only annual book awards, which has a single focus on Māori literary excellence.

Who runs the Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards?

The Ngā Kupu Ora Aotearoa Māori Book Awards are organised by Massey University. It was first initiated by Te Pūtahi-a-Toi the School of Māori Art, Knowledge and Education Senior Lecturer Dr Spencer Lilley, and Kaihautū Māori (Māori Library Services Manager) Sheeanda Field. Te Puni Kokiri has supported the awards through sponsorship over the years.

Why is an awards event being held?

The event is an opportunity to recognise authors and writers and acknowledge their contribution to excellence in Māori literature and journalism.

How were the finalists selected?

Books on Māori topics were selected from those published between January and December 2016. Māori journalists were asked to nominate their work published in 2016. A panel of independent experienced journalists then judged the nominations.

When is the awards event?

The awards dinner will be held on 8 November 2017 at Te Papa Tongarewa in Wellington.

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey