Research Medal winners announced

Professor Sally Morgan and Professor Steve Morris


Dr Mary Breheny

The Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health team
members Dr Sarah Rosanowski, Professor Tim Carpenter
(team leader), Dr Jackie Benschop, Dr Julie Collins-Emerson,
Dr Anne Midwinter, Professor Nigel French,
Dr Mark Stevenson, Dr Patrick Biggs, and Dr Eric Neumann.

Former College of Creative Arts head Professor Sally Morgan is the individual winner of this year's Massey University Research Medal.

Other medal winners are Professor Steve Morris from the College of Sciences for research supervisor, Dr Mary Breheny from the College of Health for early career and the winning research team is Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health from the College of Sciences.

Professor Morgan is a Professor of Fine Arts specialising in live performance art and painting. She has an extensive research background and, as college pro vice-chancellor, helped put it at the forefront of design, fine arts, visual and material culture, and music, helping define what makes New Zealand stand out internationally. She is now also the college's doctoral research director.

Professor Morris is a Professor in Animal Science in the college's Institute of Veterinary, Animal and Biomedical Sciences, where he has a broad portfolio in postgraduate supervision and leads various research initiatives.

Dr Breheny specialises in human health research with a particular emphasis on issues relating to the ageing population. She has made a significant contribution to the field and to the college since completing her PhD.

The Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health team members are Professor Tim Carpenter (team leader), Dr Jackie Benschop, Dr Patrick Biggs, Dr Naomi Coger, Dr Julie Collins-Emerson, Professor Nigel French, Professor Cord Heuer, Dr Jonathan Marshall, Dr Anne Midwinter, Dr Eric Neumann, Dr Sarah Rosanowski and Dr Mark Stevenson. One of the largest epidemiology and public health research groups in Australasia, the team specialises in understanding and control of disease in animal, human and plant populations, the transmission of disease from animals to humans, and hazards in food of animal origin.

Individual college research awards were won by Professor Anne De Bruin (Business), Professor Murray Patterson (Humanities and Social Sciences), jointly by Professor Peter Lockhart and Professor Bernd Rehm (Sciences) and Professor Morgan.

College research supervisor awards were won by Associate Professor David Cross (Creative Arts), Associate Professor Lynn Jeffery (Business), Associate Professor Kerry Taylor (Humanities and Social Sciences) and Professor Tony Patterson (Sciences).

College early-career awards were won by Dr Hatice Ozer-Bali (Business), Holly McQuillan (Creative Arts), Dr Imran Muhammad (Humanities and Social Sciences), Dr Ngaio Beausoleil (Sciences) and Dr Breheny.

The panel that oversaw consideration and recommendations relating to this year's awards was chaired by Assistant Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise Professor Brigid Heywood and consisted of Professor Kambiz Maani (College of Business), Professor Tony Parker (Creative Arts), Professor Cynthia White (Humanities and Social Sciences), Professor Jim Jones (Sciences) and Professor Marlena Kruger (Health).

Related articles

New study tests 90-year old hybridisation theory

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey