The Centre for Postharvest Research team: Dr Richard Love, Professor Don Cleland, Dr Andrew East, Professor John Brolund and Dr Jason Wargent. (Professor Julian Heyes and Professor Errol Hewett missing from photo).

2014 research medal winners named

Distinguished Professor Paul Rainey.

Distinguished Professor Paul Rainey is the individual winner of this year's Massey University Research Medal, while the team medal went to the Centre for Postharvest and Refrigeration Research from the College of Health. Professor Cord Heuer has won the medal for research supervisor.

A professor of experimental evolution in the College of Sciences, Professor Rainey is also co-director of the Hopkins Microbiology Course at Stanford University in California. His work focuses on understanding evolutionary processes and is both theoretical and empirical. He uses microbial populations to observe and dissect evolution in real time, and has 12 papers published in Nature.

The Centre for Postharvest and Refrigeration Research is the top performing research group in the food science and technology division of the Institute of Food, Nutrition, and Human Health.

The team is lead by Professor Julian Heyes (Institute of Food, Nutrition, and Human Health) alongside Professors Don Cleland and John Bronlund (School of Engineering and Advanced Technology), Dr Andrew East, Professor Errol Hewett, and Dr Richard Love (Institute of Food, Nutrition, and Human Health), and Dr Jason Wargent (Institute of Agriculture and Environment).

They investigate storage and handling of fresh produce after harvest and the optimisation of packaging and refrigeration technologies. Steve Flint, director of Food Science and Technology, says their success lies in their multi-disciplined approach to research.

“The team consists of researchers with diverse skills and that creates strength in the team,” he says.

Professor Heuer is a professor of veterinary epidemiology and infectious diseases in the Institute of Veterinary, Animal, and Biomedical Sciences. He has supervised 26 PhD students, as well as 34 master's, honours and diploma students. His research focus has been on infectious diseases, primarily Johne’s disease and leptospirosis, of both humans and livestock.

“I strongly value my professional and personal relationship with Cord, and consider his input as being vital in the development of my career,” says Anou Dreylus, Professor Heuer’s former PhD student.

Early career University medal winners were Dr Lee Stoner (College of Health), Dr Philip Steer (College of Humanities and Social Sciences), Dr Jane Allison (College of Sciences), and Dr Jason Wargent (College of Sciences).

Individual college research awards were won by Professor Karen Witten (College of Health), Professor Michael Roche (Humanities and Social Sciences), and Professor Rainey (College of Sciences).

Supervisor award winners for the colleges included Professor Cord Heuer (Sciences), Dr Andrew Gilbey (Business), Professor Steve Flint (Health), Associate Professor Ann Dupuis (Humanities and Social Sciences) and Professor Julieanna Preston (Creative Arts).

Early career college award winners were Dr Lorenzo Ductor Gomez (Business), Dr Lee Stoner and Dr Sarah Schultz (Health), Miss Emma Fox Derwin (Creative Arts), Dr Emma Hudson-Doyle and Dr Philip Steer (Humanities and Social Sciences), Dr Kee Hoon Sohn and Dr Jane Allison (Sciences).

Related articles

Rainey elected to European biology organisation
Key roles for Massey staff in winning science team

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey