Justices of the Peace

Justices of the Peace carry out an ever-increasing multitude of functions in the administration of documentation and justice in New Zealand. These functions include:

Ministerial duties:

  • Witnessing signatures
  • Certifying documents
  • The taking of declarations, affidavits or affirmations
  • The witnessing of Land Transfer and other documents.

Judicial duties:

  • Jurisdiction determined by statute, including minor offences and some traffic cases
  • Issue of remands and Bail
  • Hearing of undefended cases
  • Presiding over defended trials
  • Preliminary hearing of indictable offences
  • The receiving of informations and complaints and the issue of summonses
  • The issue of Search Warrants
  • The issue of summonses to witnesses.

Although all Justices of the Peace perform most Ministerial duties, only some will carry out Judicial duties.

Justices of the Peace at Massey University

Massey University is fortunate to have several staff members appointed as Justices of the Peace to serve their local communities in Auckland and Palmerston North. Please contact any of the following if ever you require the services of a Justice of the Peace. The courtesy of making an appointment at a convenient time is always appreciated.

Albany campus (Auckland)

Mr Ricky Waters, Co-ordinating Chaplain (Tues/Wed) 09 414 0800 extn 43449 R.K.Waters@massey.ac.nz
Andrea Davies, Campus Registrar (by appointment) 09 414 0800 extn 43882 s.mcdougall1@massey.ac.nz

 

Manawatu campus (Palmerston North)

Dr Nick Roskruge 06 356 9099 extn 84876 N.Roskruge@massey.ac.nz
Prof Surinder Saggar 06 356 9099 S.K.Saggar@massey.ac.nz
Ms Rachael Selby 06 356 9099 extn 83509 R.A.Selby@massey.ac.nz
Dr Ganes Ganesalingam 06 356 9099 extn 84654 S.Ganesalingam@massey.ac.nz
Dianne Reilly 06 356 9099 extn 84782 D.M.Reilly@massey.ac.nz
Arthur Chin 06 356 9099 extn 81479 A.I.Chin@massey.ac.nz

For more information...

Contact UsMon - Fri 8:30am to 4:55pm0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701)TXT 5222contact@massey.ac.nzWeb chatMyMasseyStaffAlumniNewsMāori @ Massey