The University Council

Massey University’s governing body is called the University Council. Council members include lay, academic and student members who are responsible for overseeing the management and control of the affairs, concerns and property of the University. It's Chair, and ceremonial head of the University, is the Chancellor, elected by Council from within its ranks.

On this page:

Find out about the Academic Board and Committees.

Schedule of Council meetings

Council meets on the first Friday of March, May, July and December and the last Friday in September unless otherwise notified.

The next scheduled Council meeting is to be held on Friday 2 December 2016 on the Manawatu Campus.

The 2016 Meeting Schedule for Council, Council Committees and graduations is provided below.

Council & Committee meeting and graduation dates 2016.pdf (42 KB)

Arrow Back to top

Council meeting papers

Council meeting papers are available for download or print in PDF format.

Parties may request copies of documents as per the Official Information Act 1982 and Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 by contacting the Executive Secretary, Office of University Registrar. A small charge for photocopying may apply.

 Arrow Back to top

University Council members


  • Mr Chris Kelly MVSc (Massey) MACVSc

Pro Chancellor

  • Mr Michael Ahie BBS (Hons)


  • Hon Steve Maharey CNZM BA MA (Hons)

Members appointed by the Minister of Education

  • Mr Michael Ahie BBS (Hons)
  • Mr Colin Harvey ONZM BAgSc, BCC Auck 
  • Mr Ben Vanderkolk LLB Cant
  • Dr Helen Anderson QSO PhD Cantab CRSNZ FInstD

Elected permanent member of academic staff 

  • Distinguished Professor Gaven Martin BSc(Hons) MSc PhD Michigan FRSNZ FAMS, FNZMS

Elected permanent member of professional staff

  • Ms Jacqui Hofmann BA Well GDipInfSc

Member elected by Massey University students

  • Mr David McNab (Massey)

Members appointed by Council on nomination of Vice-Chancellor

  • Mr Chris Kelly MVSc (Massey) MACVSc
  • Mr Ian Marshall BCom (Natal) CANZ CASA
  • Mr Carl Worker MA Oxf.
  • vacant

Council appointed Māori representative

  • Ms Tina Wilson

Arrow Back to top

Massey University Council Constitution 2015

The Constitution of Massey University Council Notice 2015 was approved by the Minister of Tertiary Education and gazetted on 6 August 2015.

Arrow Back to top

Council News

Leading academic appointed Massey Vice-Chancellor
Wednesday 12 October 2016
A veterinary scientist with an international reputation for her teaching, research and academic leadership will be the next vice-chancellor of Massey...
Carl Worker appointed to University Council
Tuesday 12 July 2016
Diplomat Carl Worker has been appointed to Massey University's Council for a four-year term.
Memorial for Ted Delahunty
Thursday 3 September 2015
A memorial service will be held for the late Ted Delahunty (seated, third from left) at the Manawatū campus on September 19.
Beehive book launch for Māori scholars
Friday 14 August 2015
One of the legacy projects completed by an inter-university Māori academy, and edited by a senior Massey university Maori academic, has been...

Massey Contact CentreMon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701)TXT chatMyMasseyStaffAlumniNewsMāori @ Massey