COVID-19 update: All of New Zealand is now at Red. More information.

School of Built Environment students awarded scholarships


School of Built Environment students awarded scholarships.

Five students from the School of Built Environment have recently been awarded one-year tertiary scholarships for 2022 through Keystone Trust and their Key Scholarship Partners.

For more than 27 years Keystone Trust has provided support for young people from challenging backgrounds – both financial and circumstantial – to undertake tertiary study towards a professional career in the property and construction industry. The trust has assisted more than 180 rangatahi into the sector, awarding around $2 million in scholarship funding. Wrap-around support is also provided in terms of pastoral care, site visits, career support, mentoring, networking opportunities, introductions to sponsors, work experience and internships, and quite often full-time job offers at the conclusion of their study.

In 2022, Keystone Trust had 10 one-year tertiary scholarships on offer. An invaluable part of these scholarships is the industry connectivity that allows students to grow from the experience of being directly supported and mentored by their Key Scholarship Partner company. Massey students were awarded five scholarships.


Jason Barker, Matt Allan and Jay Barot.

Dr Gregory Chawynski, Director of Engagement, School of Built Environment and Senior Lecturer in Construction Management at the Auckland campus, says the School strongly supports and ensures students become eligible for the scholarship.

“Our school ensures all the candidates are screened and interviewed. The successful applicants are people who are determined to succeed and become leaders in the construction industry. We are very proud of the students who receive the scholarship and look forward to seeing what the future holds for them.”

Keystone Trust General Manager, Amanda Stanes, says the trust has had many Massey students go through the programme over the years.


Shae Ridder and Nathan Murray.

The five students awarded scholarships this year are:

  • Matthew Allan – 2022 Keystone Waide Construction Scholarship
  • Nathan Murray – 2022 Keystone and Alf Russell Property & Construction Scholarship
  • Jason Barker – 2022 Keystone and Miles Construction Scholarship
  • Jay Barot – 2022 Keystone Trust and Barnes Beagley Doherr Quantity Surveying Scholarship
  • Shae Ridder – 2022 Keystone Hawkins Scholarship

In addition, Keystone Trust has three, three-year Study Award scholarship recipients at Massey ­– one from the College of Creative Arts and two studying at the School of Built Environment. Last year, five Massey University tertiary students from the Auckland and Manawatū campuses received one-year scholarships from Keystone to support their academic journeys.