Scholarships and awards available for student exchange

Massey University Student Exchange Travel Grant

Hollywood Blvd USA.jpg All New Zealand citizens and permanent residents who apply for Student Exchange at one of the following partner institutions are automatically considered for a Travel Grant.  

Any ISEP institution
Any USAC institution
California State University, Chico, USA
Montana State University, USA
Munich University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
University of Exeter, England
University of Northern British Columbia, Canada
University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
Wageningen University, Netherlands

You do not need to submit any additional forms to be considered.  When allocating Travel Grants, the Selection Committee takes into account your academic record, references, interview, partner institution choice, and any other scholarships you hold.  Students receiving an exchange award from a Massey College are not eligible for a Travel Grant.

College of Humanities and Social Sciences: Student Exchange Study Award

Undergraduate students enrolled in a College of Humanities and Social Sciences degree may be eligible to apply for a Student Exchange Study Award from the College.  The deadlines to apply are 31 July for exchanges commencing in Semester One of the following year and 31 October for exchanges commencing in Semester Two of the following year.

Massey Business School: FUJIFILM Business Innovation Global Student Exchange Scholarship

Multiple $5,000 scholarships are available to support full-time Massey Business School undergraduate and postgraduate students interested in going on exchange.  The application deadline is 20 August.

ISEP logo.jpg Explore the World Scholarship

Any student who applies to go on exchange through International Student Exchange Programs (ISEP) is automatically considered for one of Massey's Explore the World scholarships.  No additional paperwork is required.  The Selection Committee will review all aspects of your application and interview when making selections. You can receive an Explore the World scholarship even if you receive funds from other scholarships.

Prime Minister's Scholarships for Asia

These awards support top undergraduate or postgraduate students wanting to undertake study or research in Asia. They can cover costs including tuition fees, return economy class flights, accommodation, a living allowance, and medical insurance. The scholarship is focused on ASEAN countries such as Thailand, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, Philippines, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore and Indonesia, as well as India, China, Japan, Korea, and the Middle East.

Prime Minister’s Scholarship for Latin America

The PMSLA provides support for New Zealand citizens and permanent residents to study in Latin America.  The funds can be used to cover tuition, flight, insurance, and visa costs for one or two semesters of exchange.  Preference is given for programmes in Colombia and Brazil.  Other Latin American countries such as Bolivia, Mexico, Costa Rica, Chile, Argentina, Nicaragua, and Uruguay are also included.

Orbit Travel Drawing for a Travel Voucher

Orbit World Travel.jpg Exchange students who book their flights through Orbit Travel by the deadline will get a range of discounts, benefits and will go into a drawing for a NZ$500 Travel Voucher.  One voucher will be awarded each semester.  It is good for twelve months for any travel you book through Orbit.  You can reach Orbit’s dedicated Student Exchange consultant by email, calling (06) 350 5522 option 2, or by stopping by Orbit’s office on the Manawatū concourse.

Peter Brown Memorial Friendship Award

The American Club of Auckland offers an annual Award, valued at NZ$2,000, to a New Zealand student who has been accepted to study in the United States.  The application deadline is normally in April.  This Award is only available for students intending to go on exchange during Semester Two due to the timing of the application deadline.

Scholarships to study in Japan

  • Nagoya University of Foreign Studies offers a monthly stipend (living allowance) of ¥60,000 per month.  You can check the current exchange rate to see what this equates to in NZD.
  • The JASSO scholarship is offered to international students accepted by Japanese universities or graduate schools under a student exchange agreement.  The scholarship offers a monthly stipend and relocation allowance.  Applicants must be citizens of a country that holds diplomatic relations with Japan.  Scholarships are limited and applications are processed through the host university in Japan.  Students do not apply directly for this scholarship, as the host university in Japan nominates students for the scholarship.
  • The Asia New Zealand Foundation's Japan Study Grants are open to undergraduate students accepted on exchange to Japan.  Students must be a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident aged between 16 and 25 at the time of study.

BUTEX scholarships for study in the United Kingdom

Each year BUTEX awards a number of scholarships to students studying abroad in the UK for either a semester or for a whole academic year.  The value of each scholarship is £500 and will be paid to the winners once they have arrived and registered at their host university.  The scholarship application deadline is 15 June each year.  Because of the timing of the application deadline, this scholarship is only available for students intending to go on exchange during Semester Two.

The Scholarships are open to undergraduate students who have been offered a study abroad or exchange place at a UK university or college which is BUTEX-affiliated.  The following Massey exchange destinations are BUTEX-affiliated universities: University of Brighton and University of Exeter.

French Embassy in Wellington - Student Scholarships

Every year the French Embassy in Wellington allocates a few scholarships to New Zealand students wanting to pursue postgraduate exchange study in France. The scholarship provides a travel grant of €2,000. Recipients are selected on academic merit, with preference given to Political Science, Law, Economics, Business and Management, Science or Engineering students. The student must be a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident and enrol at a French university or Grande Ecole for a minimum of one semester of full-time study.  The student does not have to have been accepted by a French university at the time of application for the grant.  The closing date is 31 December each year.