Four new Royal Society Te Apārangi Fellows

(Clockwise) Professor Doug Armstrong, Professor Helen Moewaka Barnes, Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith and Professor Robert Jahnke

Four Massey academics have been elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi for their distinction in research and advancement of science, technology or the humanities. 

Professor Doug Armstrong, Professor Helen Moewaka Barnes, Professor Robert Jahnke and Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith are four of the 27 new Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi Fellows and Ngā Ahurei Honore a Te Apārangi Honorary Fellows.

The honour recognises distinction in research and advancement of science, technology or the humanities, as well as exceptional leadership in their communities and areas of research and scholarship.

Massey Provost Professor Giselle Byrnes says it is wonderful to see these outstanding Massey researchers recognised in this way and acknowledges the diversity of disciplines represented by scholars.

Professor in Conservation Biology Doug Armstrong, from the School of Agriculture and Environment, is recognised as a key player behind New Zealand’s reputation as a world leader in the field of restoration ecology and reintroduction biology.

He is internationally renowned for his expertise in conservation and wildlife management and most recently has had his work on reintroduction programmes directly influence the New Zealand government’s goal of Predator Free New Zealand by 2050.

Director of Whāriki and co-director of the SHORE and Whariki Research Centre Professor Helen Moewaka Barnes, Te Kapotai, Ngāpuhi-nui-tonu, has had a significant international impact in the field of Indigenous peoples' health and wellbeing.

Her work is at the forefront of creating new knowledge in the determinants of health, wellbeing and mātauranga Māori, particularly in human and environmental relationships.  Throughout her research career, she has made immense contributions to the development of mātauranga Māori, with innovative methodologies such as Te Huihuinga, and A Wairua Approach.

Professor Robert Jahnke, Ngai Taharora, Te Whānau a Iritekura, Te Whānau a Rakairo o Ngāti Porou, is is an internationally recognised artist, sculptor and designer as well as a tireless ambassador for Māori and Indigenous art and culture. 

He is the founder and leader of the Toioho ki Āpiti programme at Massey, establishing the first Bachelor of Māori Visual Arts at a time when no other Māori arts programme existed within universities. Toioho ki Āpiti is recognised as a pioneering teaching programme integrating te reo Māori and tikanga Māori, and supporting the growth of the Māori art movement in New Zealand. 

Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith CNZM, Te Aitanga a Hauiti, Ngāti Apa, Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāi Tahu, is a prominent Māori and Indigenous scholar who has been at the forefront of initiatives in education and Māori development.

His significant contributions are seen in the large number of public entities that now utilise Kaupapa Māori structures and practices. His work has led to transdisciplinary research methods and theories that are being used extensively with other Indigenous peoples across the world.

Distinguished Professor Hingangaroa Smith says it’s wonderful to see the recognition of Māori scholars and research in this year’s awards.

“I think these awards are important to not only recognise research excellence, but to also generate enthusiasm within all academics to strive to perform to the highest level” 

The new Fellows will be formally inducted at an event in Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington on 29 April.

Fort a full list of the recent Fellow recipients go to the Royal Society website.


Related articles

Professor Mohan Dutta named ICA Fellow