Our Wellington and Manawatū campuses are open, Auckland remains closed at AL4. More information.

Recognition of AWSBC three Rs contributions


AWSBC staff members have worked consistently for several decades to develop and implement highly innovative approaches that both strengthen and extend Three Rs applications. These contributions have been recognised both internationally and nationally, for example, by conferment of the National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee Three Rs Award to:


Associate Professor Alex Davies 2003 – Developing computer-aided-learning programmes

Professor Craig Johnson 2006 – Developing a pain-free model to study pain and its alleviation

Professor David Mellor 2014 – Developing the Five Domains Model for welfare impact assessment

Neil Ward 2015 – Developing and sharing on-line computer-aided-learning resources.