University Council , Te Kaunihera

Massey is governed by the University Council, headed up by the Chancellor. The 12 members of Council are a mix of elected and appointed positions.

The University Council oversees Massey from a governance perspective.

Constitution of Massey University 2015.

How the Council operates

The functions of the University Council are:

  • to appoint a chief executive in accordance with the Public Service Act 2020, and to monitor and evaluate the chief executive’s performance
  • to prepare and submit a proposed plan if the institution is seeking funding under a funding mechanism that provides for funding via plans
  • if the institution has a plan: to ensure that the institution is managed in accordance with that plan; and to determine policies to implement that plan
  • to determine, subject to the Public Service Act 2020, the policies of the institution in relation to the management of its affairs
  • to undertake planning relating to the institution’s long-term strategic direction.

Education and Training Act 2020 in relation to university councils

Council members

The Council is made up of 12 members and is headed by the Chair, who is:

  • elected by the Council for a one-year term
  • the ceremonial head of the university
  • the Chancellor.

Council Chair / Chancellor

 Alistair Davis

Alistair Davis

Prof Jan Thomas

Prof Jan Thomas


Pro Chancellor

Annually elected by the Council for a one-year term.

 Angela Hauk-Willis

Angela Hauk-Willis

MA (Freiburg im Breisgau - Albert-Ludwigs University, Germany)
Pro Chancellor

Members appointed by the Minister of Education

Current four Council members appointed for a four year term.

 Michael Ahie

Michael Ahie

Taranaki, Ngāruahine Rangi, Ngāti Ruanui
BBS (Hons) (Massey) CMInstD
 Ross Buckley

Ross Buckley

BBS (Massey) FCA, FCPA, CMinstD
 Angela Hauk-Willis

Angela Hauk-Willis

MA (Freiburg im Breisgau - Albert-Ludwigs University, Germany)
Pro Chancellor
 Oriana Paewai

Oriana Paewai

Rangitāne, Kauwhata, Raukawa ki te Tonga

Elected permanent member of academic staff

Current permanent academic staff member elected by academic staff for a four year term.

Distinguished Professor Gaven Martin

Distinguished Professor Gaven Martin

Distinguished Professor of NZ Institute of Advanced Studies

Elected permanent member of professional staff

Current permanent professional staff member elected by general staff for a three year term.

 Rebecca Argyle

Rebecca Argyle

Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa
Business Executive Manager

Elected student member

Current member elected by the students enrolled at the university for a two year term.

More about students in leadership

 Minnie-Kalo Voi

Minnie-Kalo Voi

Bachelor of Business student

Members appointed by Council on nomination of the Vice-Chancellor

Current four members appointed by Council for a four year term.

 Paul Brock

Paul Brock

BBS (Massey)
 Alistair Davis

Alistair Davis

 Caren Rangi

Caren Rangi

Rarotonga, Rakahanga, Manihiki
ONZM, FCA, BBS (Massey)
University Council 2022

The University Council 2022

Council meeting dates

Part One of all Council meetings are open to the public. If you would like to attend in person or by video conference, please contact


This table shows the 2024 University Council meeting dates, including location.
Date Day Start time Location
7 March Thursday 9am Manawatū/online
16 May Thursday 10am Wellington/online
18 July Thursday 9am Manawatū/online
19 September Thursday 9.30am Auckland/online
7 November (TBC) Thursday TBC Online (TBC)
5 December Thursday 9am Manawatū/online

Council meeting papers and agendas


Past meetings

If you would like papers from earlier meetings, please contact

Council sub-committees

Three sub-committees sit underneath the University Council:

  • the Academic Board
  • the Finance and Assurance Committee
  • the People and Culture Committee

More about Council committees and Board

Council and committee contact

Chanell Meehan

Governance Advisor
Governance and Assurance

Contact Chanell at the Governance and Assurance office for governance enquiries and about council and committee meetings.

Contact Massey

Massey University New Zealand


8.30am to 4.30pm, Monday to Friday

Free phone inside New Zealand
Phone outside New Zealand



+64 6 350 5618

Related content

Public participation at meetings

Find out how you can participate in the public forum for the next Council or Academic Board meeting.

Strategy & charter

Read key te Tiriti o Waitangi elements in the Massey University Strategy and about our charter development.

Policies, procedures & guidelines

This page lists Massey's policies, procedures and guidelines.

Expertise search

Use out expertise search to find staff at Massey.