Te Mata o Te Tau , The Academy for Māori Research and Scholarship

We advance Māori scholarship and the creation of new knowledge. We provide a forum for Māori scholars to collaborate across disciplines and research centres at Massey, in Aotearoa and overseas.

What we do

Te Mata o Te Tau brings together Māori scholars from a range of disciplines, departments and research centres.

We promote Māori academic advancement and have strong ties with other academic and research bodies at Massey, in Aotearoa New Zealand, and internationally.

We aim to:

  • advance Māori scholarship
  • provide a forum for Māori scholars to collaborate across disciplines and subject areas
  • promote high-quality research that contributes to new knowledge and positive Māori development
  • create leadership opportunities for Māori academics at Massey
  • foster links with wider Māori research interests and indigenous communities.

Our origins

Te Mata o Te Tau was launched in 2003–2004 to coincide with the appearance of the constellation of stars known as Matariki.

The name Te Mata o te Tau relates to Matariki, the promise of a fruitful year. It symbolises the advancement of knowledge.

Professor Taiarahia Black described this in his doctoral thesis:

Matariki atua, ka eke mai i te rangi e roa, e whangai iho ki te mata o te tau, e roa e, hei tuku i ngā wānanga i ngā kai ki te ao mārama.

Who we are

The academy has two main categories of membership.

  • Ngā Pūkenga (Fellows)
  • Ngā Ākonga (Associates).

Ngā Pūkenga, Fellows

Foundation Fellows

The academy’s Foundation Fellows were on staff at Massey in 2003 or have been full professors at Massey. All are Māori academics who hold doctoral degrees from a New Zealand university.

Current Massey staff:

Former Massey staff:

  • Emeritus Professor Sir Mason Durie
  • Dr Maureen Holdaway
  • Professor Taiarahia Black
  • Professor Lady Arohia Durie
  • Professor Cindy Kiro
  • Associate Professor Jill Bevan Brown
  • Dr Danny Keenan
  • Professor Te Kani Kingi
  • Dr Stephanie Palmer
  • Dr Leland Ruwhiu
  • Dr Monty Soutar

Elected Fellows

Current Massey staff:

Former Massey staff:

  • Professor Denise Wilson
  • Professor Annemarie Gillies
  • Dr Amohia Boulton
  • Dr Bronwyn Campbell
  • Dr Elisabeth Ellison-Lochmann
  • Dr Heather Gifford
  • Dr Manuhuia Barcham
  • Dr Guy Scott
  • Dr Paul Hirini
  • Dr Selwyn Katene
  • Dr Tanira Kingi
  • Dr Kara Mihaere
  • Dr Sarah-Jane Paine
  • Dr Lynne Russell
  • Dr Nicole Coupe
  • Dr Janice Wenn
  • Dr James Graham
  • Dr Lily George
  • Dr Virginia Warriner
  • Dr Wayne Ngata
  • Dr Hope Tupara

Ngā Pūkenga Taiea, Honorary Fellows

Te Ariki Nui Sir Tumu Te Heuheu

Dr Dennis McDermott

Ngā Akonga, Associate Members

All Māori academic staff at Massey

All Māori master’s and doctoral students


Puna Tātai Hono Professor Meihana Durie

Tātai Hono Pukeahu Professor Chris Cunningham

Tātai Hono Ōtehā Associate Professor Fiona Te Momo

Our research

Publications and resources

Guide to good teaching practice

This guide is relevant for all teaching staff at Massey. It aims to help you reflect critically on your teaching practice and consider how you might better cater to Māori students.

It also lists resources you can use to help improve learning and further increase the success of Māori students.


Durie, M. (2005). Ngā Tai Matatū: Tides of Māori Endurance. Oxford University Press.

Durie, M. (2004). Ngā Kāhui Pou: Launching Māori Futures. Huia Publishers.

Conference papers


Book chapter

Durie, M. (2004). Māori. In C. R. Ember, & M. Ember (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Vol. 2. Cultures (pp. 815-822). Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.


Baxter, J., Durie, M. H., Kingi, T K., & Tapsell, R. (2006). Māori. In M. Oakley-Brown, J. Wells, K. Scott (Eds.), Te Rau Hinengaro: The New Zealand Psychiatric Epidemiology Study (pp.139-178). Ministry of Health.

Other academic and research centres

Māori academic and research centres

Te Au Rangahau, Māori Business Research Centre

Te Pūtahi ā Toi

Te Pumanawa Hauora

He Pukenga Kōrero

Te Ropu Whariki

University of Auckland

The James Henare Māori Research Centre

Ngā Pae o Te Māramatanga


Mira Szászy Research Centre for Māori and Pacific Economic Development

Māori Studies, Faculty of Arts

Māori Development, Business School

Te Kupenga Hauora Māori and Pacific Health

Auckland University of Technology

Te Ara Poutama, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development

University of Waikato

Te Kotahi Research Institute

Māori and Psychology Research Unit

Te Matahauariki Research Institute

School of Māori and Pacific Development

Victoria University of Wellington

He Pārekereke Institute for Research and Development in Māori and Pacific Education

Roy McKenzie Centre for the Study of Families

Treaty of Waitangi Research Unit

Health Services Research Centre, School of Government

Māori-Related Research

School of Māori, Pacific and Samoan Studies, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

University of Canterbury

Te Ao Marama Research

Department of Māori and Indigenous studies

University of Otago

Ngai Tahu Māori Health Research Centre

Māori, Pacific and Indigenous in a Global Context

Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare

Māori/Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI)

Te Tumu, School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies

Māori academic publications

He Pārekereke Institute for Research and Development in Māori and Pacific Education

Crown research institutes

NZ Institute for Crop and Food Research, Māori Partnerships

NZ Forest Research Institute, Māori Business Development Manager

Plant & Food Research, Māori Engagement

National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, Te Kūwaha

Government funding

MBIE – Science and innovation funding

Health Research Council of New Zealand

Marsden Fund, Royal Society of New Zealand

Indigenous research centres, sites or forums

Purai – Global Indigenous and Diaspora Research Studies Centre

Indigenous Research Centre of the Americas, Department of Native American Studies

Native Hawaiian Centre of Excellence, University of Hawaii

Postgraduate student support

Massey offers doctoral study support for Māori doctoral students via Te Wheke a Toi: The International Indigenous Centre for Critical Doctoral Studies.

He tautoko ā-ako ina whai tohu paerua ana, tohu kairangi rānei — postgraduate and doctoral study support

Contact Dr Monica Koia if you have any questions.

Contact us

For all enquiries and information about Te Mata o te Tau, contact Dr Monica Koia.

Dr Monica Koia

Ruawaipu, Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu, Te Arawa, Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga, Pūkenga Matua
Pūkenga Matua – Senior Māori Research Officer, Te Mata o Te Tau

0800 627 739 extension 85093

Te Mata o te Tau, the Academy for Māori Research and Scholarship